[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

T.J. Houshmandzadeh

lhamp

When last we saw TJ, it was the third preseason game... he had a great game (96 yards and a td)... but late in the game he left with a mysterious "heel injury."

Since then he's missed the last preseason game, the first regular season game, and he's not been able to get through a complete practice.

So my question is.... what the He11 happened to that heel of his? I've been doing fantasy football since 1993 and I don't think I can remember a player missing a game, let alone two, with an "injured heel."

Edited by lhamp

I've done some (non-scientific) research and believe he has the dreaded plantar fasciitis. Reports indicate he can walk and run straightline but can't cut. He also has a history of foot problems, including most recently at the end of last season in December, 2005.

Link: http://fantasyfootball.usatoday.com/conten...2552&line=68028.

Plantar fasciitis is a painful and slow-healing injury in which the thin soft tissue in the arch of the foot closer to the heel is inflamed. It makes lateral movement (i.e., a wide receiver's cuts) very difficult. The injury is such that it appears to "get better" followed by setbacks due to inflammaton. This is consistent with the reports coming out of the Bengals (i.e., he's playing, he's not playing, etc.)