[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Fantasy Football & Diminishing Enjoyment

Chief Dick

I've been playing this game for 9 years now, and it seems that every year gets harder and harder to get excited about this hobby. The draft is usually a very anticipated event, but I know my enthusiasm has been tempered for the last several years. The reality of the situation is that I just don't really care about it any more. I know I continue to play because I have committed to my various leagues and will try to see them through, but the more I think about it the more I just want to walk away from it.

Don't know if it's because of the longevity of playing, the new family commitments I have now, or just plain apathy at doing the same thing every year. What really got be thinking about it was last week. The Chiefs lost, and most of my FF teams lost, and it really put me in a bad frame of mind the rest of the day and the early part of the week. And I started wondering why this fantasy football thing has such a hold on me.

It's almost like a drug in that you start with one league, and then you obsess and want more. You enter multiple leagues and all of a sudden it starts to really affect the way you think about football, and it really affects the most precious commodity we all have: TIME. And as I get older, time is my enemy. And when I think about the things most important, and how I allocate time to them, suddenly fantasy football seems like a serious waste of what precious time I have.

And when you throw in all the time I sit here reading, studying, and interacting, it drains that much more time from more important things.