[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Kicker projections - logic check

doctor_stoppage

Hi,

This is my first year on a subscription based FF site, so I apologize if this is something I should already know, or this post is in the wrong forum, etc.

Are kicker projections more or less accurate than other position projections? It seems to me that projecting how a kicker is going to do is really more a matter of deciding how a whole game is going to go. On the order of "this is a decent O against a strong D, I feel there will be many field goal opportunities in this game".

I guess I'm going through what most would go through on a new site - how much can I trust the predictions overall? I've done OK so far with Huddle advice, about 50-50. Example: Nick Folk was a good pickup. Getting and starting Daniel Owens over my regular tight end was a push. Starting Randle El over Roy Williams this last week was a huge mistake and cost me 20+ points and the game. And so on. Like I said, middlin' success.

But I wonder how far I should go with this weeks kicker advice. Out of seemingly nowhere, Jason Elam is the lowest ranked kicker this week. Projected at 2 points! So-so kicker Nate Keading is ranked 4th with 10 points. Is that mostly a matter of someone prognosticating that DEN will score exactly 2 TDs and no field goals against Indy for some reason?

I know this is a wide topic, but I want to know;

Site operators - can you give some insight as to how the weekly rankings are decided upon? Is it one author or a group consensus? Anything else you can share? Do you track accuracy in any way?

Site Members - how do you handle the projections? Do you go well out of your way to implement Huddle advice verbatim, or... not so much? What is the most valuable site resource for you?

Thanks!

Doug

Ride the kicker wave while they're scoring points.