[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Odell Thurman KO'ed?

Bronco Billy

link

Thurman suspended indefinitely

BY MARK CURNUTTE | MCURNUTTE@ENQUIRER.COM

Former Bengals linebacker Odell Thurman faces an indefinite NFL suspension after violating the league substance abuse policy, SI.com reported.

The Web site cited an unnamed source.

"I have no knowledge of that," Safarrah Lawson, one of Thurman's representatives, told The Enquirer on Monday night.

"That was certainly not the case when the Bengals released him."

The Bengals waived Thurman on May 19. He had been reinstated April 21 by NFL commissioner Roger Goodell following what had amounted to a two-year suspension for breaking the substance abuse policy.

Thurman is tested 10 times a month for alcohol and drugs, Lawson said. Under the league policy, a missed test is the same as a failed test.

Thurman has been dealing with the death of his grandmother, who brought him up following the death of Thurman's mother. He attended her funeral in Monticello, Ga., on May 12 and was expected back by the Bengals on May 13 to participate in offseason practices. They are voluntary.

Lawson said Bengals coach Marvin Lewis told him that Thurman had not been in the building enough since he was reinstated.

"We've been patient enough with Odell," Lewis told Cincinnati-based media that cover the team.

Bengals public relations director Jack Brennan said Monday night that the Bengals would have no comment.

Thurman, the Bengals' second-round pick in 2005, led the team with 148 tackles as a rookie. In July 2006, though, he was suspended for four games for violating the substance abuse policy. The suspension was extended to a full season following his DUI arrest Sept. 25.

In July 2007, Goodell denied Thurman's application for reinstatement.