[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

A most extrodinary wine

Kid Cid

Most of you know by now that I'm far from an expert on wines but that I know good from bad and my palate has been moderately educated. I can taste distinct flavors in the wines but for the most part I couldn't tell you if something will cellar well and open up in 10-20 years or if they're worth the price paid other than by I'd pay that much for that wine. But I've drank quite a few wines in all price categories and tasted many more and when I tell you that I triend the most extrodinary wine I've ever tasted, well all I can say is that you should all go try it yourself and call me a liar.

The 2005 Moss Roxx is an ancient vine Zinfandel from the Lodi region. It's made by the Oak Ridge Winery in Lodi, CA. Everything about this wine tells you that you are in for something different, starting with the bottle itself. It's a good 2 inches taller than any other bottle, made from an exceptionally dark, thick green glass and it weighs about twice what a normal bottle weighs. It was priced at $49.95 and it is the first wine in that price range that I think is probably too cheap.

I've been a fan of Lodi region Zinfandels for quite some time now, I think they're the best wines coming from CA. They tend to be fruit forward with a lot of complexity. In other words, big, bold, and chewy. Great wines for steaks or pasta but easy enough to drink for the sake of drinking. Most are on the dark side of the color spectrum. The first thing you notice about the Moss Roxx is that it's not a wine that sucks the light out of the room like many of Zins do. It's lighter in color, much more like a solid Pinot Noir. The nose has hints of oak but nothing overpowering. Light and fruity much like its color, the aroma is also like no other Zin I've had before.