[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Scheme matters

eagles2010

I learned alot about the LB's position's and its relation to fantasy scoring, but I have questions about Strong and Free safeties and the relation from different schemes, 3-4, 4-3 , Tampa -2 and which position is more productive. As I understand it, and I am a novice but have been trying to read between the lines through the IDP breakdowns and such on the Huddle that Strong safeties are run support players more than Free safeties. Some questions that I have are:

1. Do Free safeties have more value verse a pass heavy team ( Broncos, Saints, so far ) verse heavy run teams like ( Raiders, Vikings )

2. Are Free Safeties willing to cheat up as soon as a strong run formation or likely running play is suspected, or do they have an assignment to protect the play action , therefore covering a TE or slot regardless of initial formations and action behind the line of scrimmage?

3. Free safeties are asked to roll to "Stud" WR's for the double team more than Strong safeties. Is that the right philosophy?

4. I am thinking that the free safeties dont have a set assignment, say a TE pre-snap, but more of a read and react assignment? An extension of this question would be how often are free safeties asked to play man to man defense verse playing a zone? ( I bet this isnt exactly an easy answer since down and distance and formations play a big part. )

5. Which defensive scheme is historically more productive for Strong safeties verse Free safeties?

Now a couple questions about Strong safeties .

1. Strong safeties are the better play verse a run heavy team most of the time. Is that true?

2. Are Strong safeties able to " free lance " as a play devolopes, or do they have a set assignment pre-snap. Which scheme allows the Strong safety more freedom to make decisions on the fly?