[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

The Mess that is Tyrone Willingham

Pope Flick

Although I'm a UTexas grad, I fly through here being an ND fan due to my midwest roots. And although posts here do not have a long shelf life (probably for the best) there are no doubt many of you who remember calling out ND for failing to give Ty a fair shot.

Well, he decimated their recruiting, which you saw last year in their lack of Sr and Jr level talent. If you want to engage in hyperbole about how that was Weis' fault, then All I can say is it's too bad the post where I broke down Willingham's reluctance to recruit at ND (leaving one class of 7 upon his exit). Weis has rebooted ND, and the majority of impressive players on that team are all Sophomore's.

Now, 3 years later let's see what Ty has achieved at Washington. Um, not much. He's just ran that program into the ground and won't survive the season. I'd REALLY like to hear - especially from the worst ND slammer when Ty was fired - theprofessor - how you feel about the following that took place in Huskie Country this week and yesterday:

- the top DT recruit (#12 in teh country) decommitted to go to - most likely - Cal.

- yesterday: Willingham defrered twice in the game. Yes, he won the toss and derfered in the 1st quarter. They came out from halftime and deferred again. disco fever baby! ?

- yesterday: two freshman recruits who were to be redshirted for the year were inserted in the second half of the game yesterday and are now on the hook for the entire season.

- early recruiting at UW is a shambles. They are last in the Pac 10 (as of about 2 weeks ago) and I can tell you that's par for the course for this guy.