[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

BCS style fantasy playoff

Flyer2010

I've been playing FF for over 15 years and managing a 12 team keeper league for 8. Last year the league petitioned me to create a playoff format that would enhance competition, open the playoffs to more teams and deter losing teams from selling off their starters for future picks. I have always hated the trade deadline firesale that takes place between playoff bound teams and those likely sitting out, landing ringers on rosters just in time for playoffs only to be traded again in the off-season! We came up with something I consider pretty unqiue so I thought I'd share.

Prior to last season we had 2 conferences with 4 divisions. Playoffs consisted of 4 division winners and 2 wildcards in the playoffs- 6 teams, pretty standard stuff. I refused to open the playoffs automatically to more than 8 teams- it just seemed to nullify the regular season. Here's what I came up with...

We now have 2 conferences with no divisions- 6 teams each. We base standings on Victory Points (VP) rather than record, but the system would work on overall record also. This allowed for a college football style standings, slightly accounting for factors such as strength of schedule and pts scored. VP's were awarded as follows: win=1, top 1/3 of total points for the week=2, middle 1/3=1. Therefore a team with the 2nd highest weekly point total who lost to the first highest would not automatically fall below a losing team in the standings. Winning teams in the top 1/3 weekly would get 3 VP's (1- win, 2- top 1/3). VP's closely resemble a "power rank." Think of an undefeated Boise St. or TCU compared to a 1 loss Texas, Florida, Oregon, etc. The 1 loss superconference team would still be ranked #1 by the AP most likely, depending on "quality wins."