[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Auction Draft Strategies

gbpackers

Im in a Yahoo league this year, and we're starting to do an auction draft. What are your strategies in doing auction drafts? This is my first time, so Im not really sure how I want to proceed.

My gut feeling leads me to overspend on Foster AND R Rice, and find bargains in other positions.

We have a $200 cap, and use positions of qb, wr, wr, rb, rb, wr/rb, te, k, d and dp (6 bench).

Here is my gameplan (I think):

Arian Foster (Yahoo avg. price has him listed at $50)

Ray Rice ($49)

Tony Romo ($13)

Even if I overspend by $4-5 on each player, I could end up with those 3 at roughly $120, leaving me $80 to spend on the remaining 13 players. Doesnt sound like much left over, but Im getting by far the top 2 players in fantasy.

I feel like every year there are wrs that come out of nowhere to impress. I really dont feel like there is a big difference in wrs between #2 and #16. (Nicks, Fitz, Roddy, Andre, Cruz, Marshall, Jennings, Welker, AJ Green, Julio, Wallace, Nelson, Austin, Smith, Bowe) Ill let all of those guys go to other teams, and find some bargains later on.

Suggestions, gameplans, opinions?

No offense but those values are way off IMO. Rice and Foster will both go in the $70 dollar range and Foster might even hit $80.

This, for starters.

Beyond that, I've got to say that the Huddle is way, way different in terms of its valuation than either ESPN or Yahoo. Not even who is valued highly (which would be the equivalent of the basic cheat sheets having guys in a different order, but they also differ greatly in the drop-off from studs to 2nd tier and from one position to the next.