[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Illegal Use Of Words

keggerz

What will be odd is if they call it on a black player for calling another black player N******. And do they care about variations? If I was a referee, I would NOT like this. Hard enough to call plays correctly without trying to hear what players are saying.

What will be odd is if they call it on a black player for calling another black player N******. And do they care about variations? If I was a referee, I would NOT like this. Hard enough to call plays correctly without trying to hear what players are saying.

Exactly what I was thinking. What if someone calls someone the n word celebrating a good play?

Just penalize the players after the game is over if they should be unfortunately enough to get caught on tape. That way it seems like you are doing something about foul language and racial slur even though you are really not.

I look forward to the refs calling the penalty though: "illegal use of a word: 15 yards penalty and automatic first down".

another thing..these are grown men playing football, we're gonna start seeing penaties for words? Cmon man...

Seriously. I can only imagine a player complaining to the ref that someone called them a name.

Just penalize the players after the game is over if they should be unfortunately enough to get caught on tape. That way it seems like you are doing something about foul language and racial slur even though you are really not.

I look forward to the refs calling the penalty though: "illegal use of a word: 15 yards penalty and automatic first down".

Agree. This is fine territory, not something that should impact games.

Just that word? Why not slurs towards any other race? Why not slurs of any kind?

from the article.