[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Tipping question

Hugh 0ne

So, we took our employees out for a very nice dinner last night. The bill came, and we had about $500 in food, and $500 in booze, and it was listed separately on the bill. The service was very nice, so I was planning on tipping 20%, a nice $200 tip. My business partner said that you weren't supposed to tip on the alchohol. I've never heard of this. I've also never seen food and booze split on the check. What's the proper tipping amount here?

• Replies 201
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am no expert but I have always tipped on the total bill. I am not a big driner at a resturant so I don't know what to think when at times those drins are up there in price. :D Seems like a bill could be way over inflated with a few rounds of tasty drins.

Tip on the total bill. I've seen discussions where people questioned tipping on a very, very expensive bottle 'cause it's no harder to open that than a cheap one. That has a shred of merit but if you've got the scratch to order a $200 bottle of wine in a restaurant, you should be able to drop the cash on the tip as well.

For your party racking up $500 in drinks, I'm guessing it was happening a round at a time. Many, many bottles, beer, cocktails, etc. That's as much work, if not more than running food, so there is absolutely no question.

Tip on the total bill. I've seen discussions where people questioned tipping on a very, very expensive bottle 'cause it's no harder to open that than a cheap one. That has a shred of merit but if you've got the scratch to order a $200 bottle of wine in a restaurant, you should be able to drop the cash on the tip as well.