[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Is Avs/Wings over Hurricanes/Leafs a sure bet?

Controller

As I stated earlier, I know VERY little about hockey, but have been thoroughly enjoying this year's playoffs (first the Sharks/Avs and now the Wings/Avs).

A couple of years ago, I sat in the Oakland Coliseum watching the Ravens completely stuff the Raiders running game in the AFC title game (the Raiders led the NFL in rushing during the regular season that year) and I left that game completely impressed with the Ravens D. As the Super Bowl neared, I was 99.99% certain that the Giants had absolutely no chance to win or cover, and (uncharacteristically) I made some rather large bets on the Ravens. Needless to say, I did quite well on those bets.

Now, admittedly I am a complete novice when it comes to hockey. My impression is that the winner of the Avs/Wings will have no trouble winning the Stanley Cup over the Hurricanes/Leafs.

Am I over-simplifying things? Or is this another "golden opportunity" to cash in on a rare championship mis-match???

Help me out, hockey brethren... :confused:

First off, this is a 7 game series, not a 1 game, winner take all. Big difference between the NFL playoffs & the NHL playoffs.

I would rank an upset of the Eastern Conference over the Western Conference in this year's Stanley Cup Championship perhaps just a shade less than say the '80 U.S. Olympic Hockey gold medal - maybe right around Villanova over Georgetown in the NCAA BB tournament.

Just too much talent & heart west of the Big Muddy... {Yes, that was intentional... wink }

Save you $$$ for beer. It ain't gonna happen.