[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

OK, I have no knowledge about wine whatsoever....Need your help!

Ziachild007

Going to have dinner with some friends tonight, where they will be having some venison (elk, I think). They are big wine collectors (have a complete downstairs room just for wine). What would be a good wine to take to dinner?

Three questions:

1) How much do you want to spend? (May make a difference regarding varietal)

2) Is it going to be opened for dinner? (If I'm serving dinner, I'm picking the wine. I'm not going to leave it up to someone with no wine experience and I'm not going to put myself in the position of either having to snub you by setting your bottle aside or drink a bad/inapproriate bottle with dinner.)

3) Is everybody else at the dinner an experienced wine drinker? (An inexperienced person may not be aware that there is such a thing as red zinfandel.)

Edit: If its #2, you need to know what you're eating and how its prepared. (However, if you don't know this info already, I don't think that your host expects you to bring a wine for dinner.)

Edited by Furd

Three questions:

2) Is it going to be opened for dinner? (If I'm serving dinner, I'm picking the wine. I'm not going to leave it up to someone with no wine experience and I'm not going to put myself in the position of either having to snub you by setting your bottle aside or drink a bad/inapproriate bottle with dinner.)

3) Is everybody else at the dinner an experienced wine drinker? (An inexperienced person may not be aware that there is such a thing as red zinfandel.)

Edit: If its #2, you need to know what you're eating and how its prepared. (However, if you don't know this info already, I don't think that your host expects you to bring a wine for dinner.)

1) $25-30??