[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Need Help

SEC=UGA

Just for me and my wife and kid...

We've been married for 5 years, I've been cooking almost every night for 5 FU(KING years. I burned out and outta ideas.

I'm an above average cook, so I could probably handle most anything you guys throw at me. My kitchen is, well, lets just say, my kitchen cost almost as much as the rest of the house, so, I can handle most anything you throw my way.

I'm planning on doing this on thursday or friday, so if there's any prep that needs to marinade/age, whatever, it needs to be for less than two days.

The wife will not eat most fish (excepting things like pan fried trout (trout almodine), grilled sword fish or salmon (which she will not eat smkoed) or shellfish (this includes shrimp.)

Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated.

My last successful foray was beef wellington, so that is out this time, she hated the pate'... :wacko:

Coq au Vin- Pretty simple, very tasty.

*This dish is traditionally made with an old rooster, since these are impossible to find a capon is a good substitute. Capons are extremely large birds and may also be difficult to find, so regular chicken may be substituted. If you wish to make a smaller amount, this recipe halves very easily.

Ingredients

1 (6 to 8) pound capon, cut into 8 to 10 pieces (You can use regular chicken if you can't find a capon, but I highly recommend searching one out.)

Kosher salt

Olive oil

All-purpose flour for dusting

1/2 pound slab bacon, cut into lardons

3 ribs celery, cut into 1/2-inch dice

1 onion, cut into 1/2-inch dice

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1 pound cremini or white button mushrooms, quartered

1/2 cup brandy

1/4 cup tomato paste

3 cups hearty red wine

1/2 pound small cipollini onions, (If you can't find cipollini onions, pearl onions are a good substitute)

4 to 6 cups chicken stock