[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Any health insurance gurus out there?

Seahawks21

I may have really stepped in it this time. About two months ago, my wife quit her job at Safeway and starting working for a small company that doesn't offer insurance. We've been shopping around for a plan for her, and were planning to buy one in the next few weeks. As my impeccable timing would have it, she just missed her period and a home pregnancy test came up positive.

I'm a relative newbie into really paying attention to health matters and insurance, and there is very little info I can find online. We make a little too much for the government programs. Does anybody have any idea if there is any way to get her insured at this point? I realize this is most likely the absolute worst demographic to pose this question to, but there is a pretty well-rounded group here, so I'm hoping somebody may have a bit of helpful information. TIA for any information y'all may have.

This is a pretty good article on how to choose an insurance plan

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I don't think your wife being pregnant will affect the cost of your coverage. Its not like signing up for life insurance after you've been diagnosed with a fatal disease.

Oh and congrats on the bun in the oven!!

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I don't think your wife being pregnant will affect the cost of your coverage.

Alas, I think Taz is dead-wrong here.

The following article may help: http://www.insure.com/articles/healthinsurance/pregnancy.html

(basically, it may be that the best (only?) option to get decent insurance coverage for your wife is for her (or you) to get her covered under a work group policy.... Any chance of her getting hired back at Safeway?)