[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

My 20,000th Post

Chief Dick

This will be my 20,000th post at The Huddle. I want to tell you about The Huddle that I know, and not the one that you see today. Keggerz has an excellent post in The Tailgate for his 35,000th post, and in there he says a lot of the things I, or any longtime huddlers, would say.

When I came here, Marty Schottenheimer was the head coach of the Kansas City Chiefs. Back then, like many of the people here, I was a newbie that knew little about fantasy football. I found this little haven that seemed to have good cheatsheets, though back then I had no idea if they were good or not. But I also found the message boards, and the people here seemed knowledgeable, but it also seemed like a place I could relate to. I didn’t know why back then, but it was…comfortable.

Over the years, I became a regular here. I remember when content was free, and I remember the day we all found out it was going to cost us money to receive what we had been receiving for nothing. We paid it, some of us because we knew we couldn’t find this quality of information on the web, but most of us because we felt loyalty to the 2 owners: David Dorey and Whitney Walters. We knew they poured their heart and soul into this, and we knew they deserved to be paid for all their hard work. We all felt like they earned it, and all of us wanted to be a part of their success. Plus, secretly, we were all shocked someone could actually make money from this stuff.