[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Keeper League

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to this site and figured that you could help me out. I participate in a family fantasy football league. Last year was our first year. For this year though, I'm trying to convince everyone to start a keeper league. I'm just wondering what is the best way to describe one of these types of leagues. I'm having trouble doin so. I've participated in them before but i having troulbe describing it. Could you please help me out. Thanks

A pretty broad topic, since the format of "keeper" leagues can vary by quite a bit, but I'll take a shot at some simple examples.

1. Redraft is a league where no players on each FF team in the league are retained from season to season, each FF owner having the opportunity to start with a totally clean slate / blank roster on draft day every year.

2. Dynasty is (typically) a league where all or most players on each FF team in the league are retained from season to season, each FF owner having to balance his / her roster management style to play both for the current season and to build for future seasons.

3. Keeper league falls somewhere in between - as noted above, rules / formats differ, but a typical Keeper example might be a situation where each FF team has the option each year of retaining 1-3 players from the prior season ... sometimes there are roster restrictions (ie each team can only "keep" 1 QB, 1 RB, 1 WR ... not 3 RB) and / or "length of contract" restrictions (ie you can only retain the same player for 2 consecutive seaons, after that he returns to the draft pool, whether the FF team owner wants to keep that player for a 3rd season or not).