[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

How long did your auction draft take?

Undefeated72

This is my first year trying an auction...I am commisioner of my league and It seems to me that it would probably take longer than a serpentine draft...

Also anbody who has been through an auction draft and has some tips for me to make things go smoother and avoid problems....PLEASE LET ME KNOW!! Even if it is a small and stupid detail

1. The auctioneer must be given 100% authority with no arguing. When he says sold it is sold. If he says someone's bid was too late, then it was too late - no questions.

2. The auctioneer must adhere strictly to a time span for going, going, gone. I would recommend a count of 10 for going(1), then a count of 5 for going (2) and then a count of 5 for gone. They cannot do it perfectly but they should try to be consistent and fair. The auctioneer can adjust the count shorter if he would like as long as he instructs everyone what it will be.

3. Repeat #1 because it is important.

4. Conduct the auction by having each team owner throw a new player out in clock-wise order (counter clockwise if in Australia). Owners have 15 seconds to throw out a player or pass. Then it is on to the next one.

5. If the auction ever gets to a point that there are only 3 or 4 teams with more than minimum bids to spend, you can allow those teams to throw out players for anything above minimum and bid among themselves while the rest wait until it turns into a standard draft because there is no more money to spend. In any case, expect to run it in the order of the teams in the "circle" by the later half of the auction since it becomes more like a draft with the ability of some to "steal" players with higher bids.