[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Who do you know that's had Motorcycle accidents?

MikesVikes

Big Ben's accident has reminded me of some accidents that I've known about before or even almost had myself.

1. Just last month, a young man that I know who was a teammate of my kids on the local wrestling team died from a motorcycle accident. He was no older than 21. He is probably the first guy that my kids know and hung out with that died. It made them think.

2. A classmate of mine was involved in a motorcycle accident about 5 years after I graduated from HS. It was around the time of my first reunion. I haven't seen him for a very long time now, but his brother-in-law was on my softball team and heard about it the night that it happened. He had to go home (back in the good old days our teams weren't done until the cards were dealt at 1 am) and tell his wife the news.

3. A guy that was a few years older than me was coming home for the weekend and he decided that not having headlights on his motorcycle wasn't going to stop him from finishing the trip. As luck would have it, the bridge that he had to cross to get home was no longer there and was under construction. He rode right through the construction area and it wasn't a good thing. He turned out ok.

4. A guy that I worked with was riding his bike on a gravel road. I've done this many, many times when I was young. Loose gravel is not a good thing. It gets even worse when a deer decides to dart into your path and you don't have any thing to do about it. That is what happened to this guy. Turned out ok.