[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

VBD in auction leagues

Grogansghost

Apologies in advance, I'm terrible at summarizing. Everything below demonstrates two main points (I think):

1. based on current auction values, the most expensive player at a position can actually be a bargain.

2. Today I had an embarrassing amount of free time on my hands.

This is my first year in an auction league and I wanted to get a sense of how average auction values relate to the actual scoring in my league.

(we use 6pts for all TDs, no ppr, and 1 pt for every 10yds rush/receiving)

Using Yahoo for current auction values, and last year's results in my league for a Value Based Drafting #, I created a cost/VBD# for the starters at every position in my league.

Average starter ignoring position = $.50 per VBD#

QB=$.40

RB=$.45

WR=$.72

TE=$.32

The average auction values for WR on Yahoo don't correspond well to my league because the mocks pool ppr and non-ppr leagues. (hopefully, the other owners fail to notice this and don't adjust for ppr inflation)

The other thing that struck me was that the top player at each position (except for TE) is a relative bargain per VBD if he lives up to last year's top performer.

The top RB costs $74. That would be $.33 per VBD# versus $.45 for the average starter.

The top QB costs $42. That would be $.34 per VBD# versus $.40 for the average starter.

The top WR costs $60. That would be $.66 per VBD# versus $.72 for the average starter.

The top TE costs $38. That would be $.66 per VBD# versus $.32 for the average starter.

With a higher cost comes higher consequences for a miss, but I guess I was expecting to see some sort of extra "luxury tax" on those early picks that equates to picking 1st overall in a snake draft and then waiting 23 players.