[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

K-1 tax question?

NAUgrad

Okay, so 2 years ago I made a stupid investment that has cost me dearly. I'm going to sum up what happened, but I'm really unclear as to if my accountant did my tax return correctly last year. Any help anyone can provide would be great.

I made an investment into a company that I was an active manager in. Let's say the amount was $10K, (this was in '07). After 6 months with the company I left in December of '07 (mostly because the principle owner lied to me and I could no longer trust him). I received a K-1 for '07 that showed a loss of $7K. I believe this is a pass through loss (I think that's right). My accountant took the full amount of the K-1 to lower my taxable income amount. We did receive money back, but not as much as I expected.

When I made the investment, I acquired shares in the company. I'm about to sell these shares back to him for $7K which should be a loss of $3K. However, I should also get another K-1 for 2008 and after selling the shares back I should also be able to take that loss as well (I think).

I may be way off on this as I'm a little confused on how a K-1 should work. One person told me that I can only use the K-1 loss against any gains, but that doesn't appear to be what my accountant did....

Any thoughts?

The $10K that you originally invested is your basis. The $7K loss that you took for 2007 reduced that basis to $3K. Your 2008 loss will also reduce your basis. Keep in mind that your basis cannot go below $0 so you will be able to deduct a max of $3K for 2008. Any loss above that is suspended and carried forward until you have a income. You may be able to deduct this loss in 2009 since you are selling your shares but you will need to check with your accountant on this.