[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

questions for the lawyers

dmarc117

tips on how to file a claim for an auto accident. should i make one on the phone or mail? just tell them what i want? how does the process work?

tia

edit: this is to the other drivers insurance company. they were at fault.

Edited by dmarc117

tips on how to file a claim for an auto accident. should i make one on the phone or mail? just tell them what i want? how does the process work?

tia

edit: this is to the other drivers insurance company. they were at fault.

In most states it does not matter. I would probably do it by voice.

I'm not a lawyer, but unfortunately I've been in 2 accidents. Niether of them were my fault but I still called my insurance company and let them handle things with the other insurance company. That made things pretty easy on me. The one thing they didn't do, that I had to on my own with the other guy's insurance company was get money for "dimunition of value" to my car since it was new and now had frame damage which made it worth less even after it was repaired. I had to fight pretty hard for that but eventually succeeded. Some people say that I shouldn't have called my insurance company since it wasn't my fault and they would jack up my rates but my company (USAA) says they don't do that.