[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Excel question

muck

I know there is a way to "view" a spreadsheet so that you can easily hide / expand columns and rows ... essentially grouping sections of the sheet together.

I've occasionally seen this when putting together detailed financial projections, and by clicking on a few "-" signs, the detail collapses down and all you see is summary information ... then, by clicking a few "+" signs, the detail re-expands out.

Any idea how to do this? I've never done it before and I have a spreadsheet that I need to put together that this would a PERFECT trial run for ... TIA! :wacko:

There are green "group/ungroup" arrows. Right click in an empty space of your toolbar and under the command tab click on data. add those two buttons to your toolbar and then highlight the rows you want to group and click on the group button. Make sure you add one extra column, ie. if you have 12 months and then a total, include the total in the group so when it collapses, then total still shows.

My finance dept produces all the monthly dept expenditure reports using subtotals function. Very handy.

...I don't know the subtotals function...feel free to WOW me...

I know there is a way to "view" a spreadsheet so that you can easily hide / expand columns and rows ... essentially grouping sections of the sheet together.

I've occasionally seen this when putting together detailed financial projections, and by clicking on a few "-" signs, the detail collapses down and all you see is summary information ... then, by clicking a few "+" signs, the detail re-expands out.

Any idea how to do this? I've never done it before and I have a spreadsheet that I need to put together that this would a PERFECT trial run for ... TIA! :wacko:

Shouldn't an accountant already know everything about Excel?