[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

VPN networks...questions

millerx

I have never used a VPN before, but my company has given me access. I installed the vpn client, and I am able to connect...but once I am connected, what am I suppose to do? All I know is that it says I am connected...for instance how can I view my desktop at work? Do I need the IP address or something? Then, open a IE page? Any guidance would be helpful.

Once your VPN is on-line, you should be able to access company apps like email, enterprise software and network drives just like you were in the office.

I don't know about viewing a desktop at work as my VPN is used for laptops only. I imagine an app like pc anywhere would allow you to bypass firewalls if your VPN is up and running. :wacko:

In the days before I had a laptop at work I had a desktop and I used to VPN to my desktop directly from my home PC. It was very nice as I could access all the stuff on my own machine. It has been a very long time since then ... but as I recall I had to open up a remote desk top to the computer name of my desktop at work. And of course the desktop had to be left up and running.

Even before I got my lap top though the company shut that ability down as they deemed to high risk.

Now I take my work lap top home ... launch the VPN ... and run all the apps on my lap top as if I was plugged in at work.

All VPN (virtual private networking) does is enable a secure connection between a PC and a corporate network. In order to make use of it, it's necessary to have the clients for client - server applications installed on the machine that the VPN is initiated from.