[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

QB or RB in the 1st Round?

Qdaddyo

QB or RB  

7 members have voted

1. 1. Should I Select A QB or RB with My 1st Round Pick?

• QB
    • RB

This is my local/family/friend league. I've been playing in it for 15+ years. I've tried year after year to get the scoring system changed, but most everyone is happy with the unique setup we have.

Anyway...

The scoring system is as follows:

1 point per yard

25 points per TD

-15 points per INT

-15 points per FL

-10 points per sack

This is for ALL players, including QB's.

It's a 12-team keeper league, and I have the 2nd pick. My keeper is of no consequence (Jerome Harrison in the 14th), so it has no impact on who I'd pick in the 1st round.

So, should I go QB or RB?

The scoring system is not a huge factor, because it increases the fantasy scoring for ALL QB's, not just the top ones. I think if you can get one of CJ or AP, then you need to do that, because they are a ways ahead of the rest of the RB's.

While this is generally true, there are times where the system is such that there are such hugh disparities in scoring between the positions that it is in fact a major factor in value. I got involved in a league last year where it worked out that QBs provided about 60-70% of the scoring, ie the one QB would normally outscore the entirety of the rest of the starting lineup, so in that case, the scoring system was a major factor.

How does scoring normally shake out in your league, where is the bigger dropoffs? It's the same question for any league, any scoring system, etc., you have to see how it has generally shaped up or at least apply your projections to see where you think the dropoffs will be.

According to that scoring system QB fantasy pt rankings would be:

Manning - 4972

Rodgers - 4960

Brady - 4782

Romo - 4728

Schaub - 4711

Rivers - 4599