[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

House Maintenance Question

Jo

OK, I'm new to this home owner thing.

I recently bought an older home. The exterior of the house is aluminum siding and brick. On 2 sides of the house, the siding is touching the dirt, which I know is a no-no. I've already removed all plants touching the siding. The siding itself is in decent shape - no visible signs of water damage or termites.

I read you want at least 6 inches of the concrete foundation showing, but that's not going to happen. To do that I'd have to dig a trench, and that's no good. Even if I dig a 2 inch trench (so that the lowest siding is 2 inches above the dirt), I'll screw up the drainage slope and water will just pool there.

So basically, I have NO CLUE where to even get started on ideas of how to fix this. I don't even know what kind of professional I'd call to address this issue (though I'd obviously prefer a do-it-yourself remedy). Any suggestions on at all on where to get started or what I should look for would be really appreciated. Thanks.

OK, I'm new to this home owner thing.

I recently bought an older home. The exterior of the house is aluminum siding and brick. On 2 sides of the house, the siding is touching the dirt, which I know is a no-no. I've already removed all plants touching the siding. The siding itself is in decent shape - no visible signs of water damage or termites.

I read you want at least 6 inches of the concrete foundation showing, but that's not going to happen. To do that I'd have to dig a trench, and that's no good. Even if I dig a 2 inch trench (so that the lowest siding is 2 inches above the dirt), I'll screw up the drainage slope and water will just pool there.