[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Shutdown Corners in FF Strategy

pun

One strategy I've found myself using a lot is checking out who the top CB is on the team that my WRs are facing. If they're facing a top shutdown corner, it makes me much more likely to sit them even if they're a stud WR. Obviously it's not like you must sit Julio against these guys, but it should lessen your expectations for studs, and if you have another option with a better match up, you might want to consider it. I've gotten burned starting guys against some of these CBs.

Part of the reason I'm making this thread is because I'm no expert on CBs across the NFL, and would like to know which CBs would make you consider sitting your WRs. Here are the ones that imo almost cause "must-sit" status for WR1s:

-Aqib Talib and Chris Harris Jr. (DEN) - would also apply to WR2s obviously in this instance.

-Darrelle Revis (NYJ)

-Josh Norman (CAR)

These guys are ones to also consider:

-Desmond Trufant (ATL)

-Richard Sherman (SEA)

-Vontae Davis (IND)

-Patrick Peterson (ARI)

Edited by pun

Julio faces Norman twice, once in the fantasy playoffs (week 14), and in the fantasy championship if you play it in week 16. That's why many people are selling off Julio now. I've seen a couple trades of Julio for Beckham, with the Beckham owner having no idea what he's getting himself in to. I honestly would feel uncomfortable as well knowing your season will be riding on a stud like Norman shutting down your #1 WR.

Your strategy is solid, and yes, you can even bench Julio.

And what happens when Norman gets hurt in week 13? Gonna have a lot of pissed off 'former' Jones owners.

I start Jones with confidence in numerous leagues. If there's a such thing as an uncoverable WR, that's Julio.