[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

MLB09: The Show on PS3

Menudo

As I've gotten older, the only video games I like to play are sports sims. I want them to be as realistic as possible. I'm doing the "Road To The Show" on MLB09 The Show for PS3, and all I can say is WOW !!!!! It is a first-person perspecitve. The game also has franchise and other features, which seem great as well, but, I'm hooked on the "RTTS" portion. Here is a rundown of how it has worked. I'm playing on the easiest level, as this is my first time with this game since switching from MLB2K9 on Xbox 360:

I created a player with my son's name Adian Vincent (I used his middle name as his last name, as the game actually announces it, and my last name wasn't available). I made him a SS with the ability to play all infield positions. He is 21 years old on the game. My player was drafted by the Houston Astros.

In the first spring, they get you a lot of playing time to decide where to place you. Now, remember, I'm on the easiest level, so, I'm probably doing this quicker than usual. I hit around .290 that Spring. The game only has you play when your at-bat, or if the ball is hit to you on defense, or when you are on the bases. It sims everything else. It has actual Spring training fields and uniforms.

After a decent spring, I was sent to the Corpas Christi Hooks, the AA team for the Astros. I was a backup SS and utility infielder, getting spot starts for a while. I was hitting well over .300 in limited play, and using the interactions screens, I kept asking my coach to move me to a starting position. After being turned down several times, they finally gave in and I became the starting SS. I played the whole season in AA, ending up hitting .328 (4th in the league) with 8 HR's and 65 RBI. ( I separated my shoulder with a week to go in the season and was placed on the DL)