[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Best External GPS

Brentastic

I'm thinking of purchasing something for the car - either tomtom or garmin etc... I have no experience with them so looking for the expert huddle opinions. Of course combining quality and value.

E2A: Consumer reports has this rated the highest - Nuvi 260W

get the 265wt. It hast a newer processor than the 260 and it comes with free lifetime traffic.. it will cost you about 40 bucks more than the 260 but its worth it. If you dont want to spend the extra 40 bucks, the 260 is fine. I know a few people that have it and no complaints.

get the 265wt. It hast a newer processor than the 260 and it comes with free lifetime traffic.. it will cost you about 40 bucks more than the 260 but its worth it. If you dont want to spend the extra 40 bucks, the 260 is fine. I know a few people that have it and no complaints.

Thanks for the input. Yeah, might as well go the extra $40 for the faster processor and whatnot.

What I found when asking that same question awhile back....the free traffic of the 265WT made me go with it over the 285WT.

http://forums.gpsreview.net/viewtopic.php?t=10503

The nuvi 285WT appears to be identical to the 265WT, except that that it doesn't offer NAVTEQ lifetime traffic. Instead, it comes with a three month trial subscription to MSN Direct. The advantages are that traffic coverage is offered for more cities, and you get extras like gas prices and weather, as well as the "Send to GPS" feature. But then you're stuck with an annual subscription fee too
Edited by myhousekey

I got the Nuvi 885T...