[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Just a few tidbits about draft and combine process

purplemonster

If any of you have some questions about the draft or combine, I am no expert myself but a good friend has a son being drafted out of college. I was picking his brain about it last night, apparently his son moved to Florida as part of this Lifetime Fitness "GameFace" preparatory service in Boca Raton. He went down there at the end of his college season and just trained for the combine down there for 4 months. The interview process with teams largely dealt with asking questions on game scenarios and testing the football mind. Without any off field issues and coming from a relatively prestigious school there weren't a lot of personal history questions for him. His agent pursued him and the family went with a somewhat 'greener' agent who charges less in fees. Something like 5% of the initial $1M and something like 1% thereafter. The agent gives the player a $3,000 stipend/mo and housing and other amenities that do not need to be repaid. He is projected to be a maybe 5th rounder, maybe more likely the 6th. Obviously the attention and money will go up from there if you are a higher pick. 

The whole process was just interesting to me. Unsurprisingly they said every interaction they had with teams you are being evaluated, so a bit stressful. He had interviews with all 32 teams even at that lowish a draft pick. 

Edited by purplemonster
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, purplemonster said:

His agent pursued him and the family went with a somewhat 'greener' agent who charges less in fees. Something like 5% of the initial $1M and something like 1% thereafter.

More info NFLPA doctrine:

S E C T I O N 4 : A G R E E M E N T S B E T W E E N
C O N T R A C T A D V I S O R S A N D P L AY E R S ; M A X I M U M F E E S
A. Standard Form