[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

D/ST philosophy: Week to Week Match ups or Stick w/ 1 Team?

chiroacademy

I have played match up week to week with defenses. This is my first year in fantasy football and I'm just learning. Can you predict with some degree of certainty who is the best team to start and if so what metrics would you use to choose a team? There are so many variables it just seems like a random crap shoot.

Well there's the obvious matchups with bad teams. It's worth looking for teams that turn the ball over a lot.

KC is just a mess right now so if you're fortunate enough to grab a D/ST going against them you should be set.

The Eagles are another team you can target for matchups, as they turn the ball over a lot.

Otherwise just try to target teams that have matchups with weak offenses.

Kind of depends. If you've got Chicago or your league really rewards Ds based on pts allowed and you have SF, you stick with them every time. Otherwise, you play the match-ups.

Because I'm almost never prepared to take a top D at the point in the draft where they end up going, I usually end up with option 2. That is, unless I get lucky and the late round D I grab ends up being an every week starter.

• Like 1

There are formulas out there for predicting team defense production if you search. They are typically not good early in the season, but get better as the season moves along.

Some guy with a username plindey (I Think) used to do a weekly calc and post it on a free site somewhere. I caution you when using free stuff, though....sometimes you get what you pay for ;)

In answer to your question in general, I prefer to find a top 12 defense and ride it. Drafting a defense is not usually high on my draft strategy priority list because they are so unpredictable.