[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

15 year old nephew coming to live with us

paulzale

I have seen some helpful stuff posted here, so I decided to put this out there and see what kind of advice I can get, since I have ZERO experience in this!

My wife and I are around 40 without any kids of our own. We have pretty big families on both sides that live about 2 hours away from us. My wife's youngest sister (still about our age) is in the National Guard. She has volunteered to go to Haiti and is supposed to be called up for active in October/November for a 1 year stint in Afghanistan. She has 3 kids, 1 is 17 and in high school, but lives with another aunt and uncle. The other is 19 and just graduated and will be going to college this fall. The youngest is 15 and he stayed with us for 2 weeks this summer while she was on her 2 week summer training. We discussed his living with us when she leaves this winter and told her we would like to discuss it with her more and come to a decision together. Well she since volunteered for the trip to Haiti and asked him where he would like to live, either us or the other Aunt/Uncle his sister lives with. He chose us and we were informed about this via text message on Friday night. Needless to say my wife and I are excited and worried at the same time. He will be a Freshman in high school, so the timing is about as good as it gets to be switching schools. His mother is not very detail oriented and really doesn't have a plan for the next 18 months, other than going to Haiti and then Afghanistan. I am very detail oriented and have a ton of questions and expectations for this.