[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Granddad's Toolchest

Footballjoe

I had an interesting afternoon. My grandfather (on my dads side) died over 50 years ago. I was very young and really don't remember him but do remember his body being at my grandmothers for viewing (thats the way it was done back then) and I remember being at the gravesite when he was buried. He was a carpenter by trade. Last week I got his old wooden tool chest from my mothers house. My dad got all his dads tools when granddad died. My dad died in 1976 so my brothers and I have been have inherited all his tools and have divided them up and been using them over the years. The tool chest was kinda left behind. It is a simple chest but in pretty good condition. The outside was painted grey and the interior had been varinshed. I sanded down the exterior removing most of the old paint and gave the interior a good cleaning. I will repaint the exterior (not sure what color) and leave the interior as is. I had a good feeling today working on Pops toolchest. I will fill it with his tools and make a special place for it in my garage. I still have his DeWalt radial arm saw, handsaws, hand drill and bits, framing square, chisels and a few other things. :wacko:

I have kept my Grandad's tools, too. They are from the depression. I have the folding measuring sticks, hand drills, planers, oiler with slinky spout, and old levels.

What was really cool was keeping his old tackle box. It still has his old pipe he used to smoke out of. I also have his fly reels. Aw man, now you got me all teary eyed thinking of this stuff. He sure was a good man.

Nice, FBJ! The chest will be a nice piece to have around simply for the memories.