[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Composite Decking

gilthorp

I would be most appreciative if anyone who knows about Composite Decking to chime in here.

I have a deck that is in need of repair, and since it faces South and takes a beating, my thought is to invest in composite decking at this time. I'm not sure how much more expensive it is from traditional decking materials.

Does anyone have a composite deck? What are your thoughts - are you happy with it?

Does anyone work with these materials, and can share which ones are the best bang for the buck, and/or which type of product should be avoided?

Thanks.

I'm not an expert in this field, but where I work we sell a lot of a newer product out there called Moisture Shield.There's a lot of technical differences between them and a few others on the market (I think it's on the web site). We stock a few colors and order in the rest, and sold a ton of it over the summer without any problems or complaints. I know it takes a few years to really know how it holds up, but it seems to be a really good product. We can get Trex and TimberTech as well, and chose to stock this one because it's a better quality and it's not sold to box stores, only independent retailers.

Not sure what you'd pay, but charge roughly $2 a linear foot for the twelve footers we stock.

Edited by Bring Back Pat!!!

Composite is alittle more than twice as much as cedar. I've done maybe a dozen composite decks and they all turned out totally perfect :tup: time will tell if that chit actually holds up :wacko: I used Rhino decking, but there's alot out there. Bunz will have the facts jack