[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Neighbor is dying

whoopazz

Well, the old guy next door is in bad shape and I'm not sure if I'm going overboard by going over there and trying to help. He is an old retired Air Force general, tough as nails, and broke his hip last year. Just near full recovery from hip replacement, they got in a car wreck and (his wife told me) he was permanently paralyzed from the waste down.

Fast forward to today, I see an ambulance in their driveway, run over to see whats up, and realize that he has been brought home to spend his last days. He's a total vegetable (looked REALLY bad), and they are installing backup power as I write to keep systems running in case of emergency. I asked if she had Hospice care lined up and she says "I'm a nurse, thats what I do". She does have family support (some fairly local, some overseas), but I am literally 10 seconds away if something goes wrong. I've offered to do whatever.

I'm considering going over every day to check on her and do whatever the hell it is she needs for help. Is this overboard?, encroaching on family? I don't really know these people but feel like I have to do something. I've even thought about reading to him, but not sure if he can even hear me. Any huddlers with experience with something like this?

I've been there. Some of the oddest things brought my neighbors such joy during the old man's final days. He particularly enjoyed that I brought my dog over for him to pet, as the old man used to sneak the dog treats through our shared chain link fence when he'd mow his lawn. (Seriously, the guy was like 90 and still started up his old-ass hand-pull mower by himself so he could mow his own grass).