[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Spice Rub for steaks

tonyr0802

STUBBS

There really is a bunch of good dry rubs out there. STUBBS is the best to me. Tom Douglas also makes some awesome dry and wet rubs.

If making your own I usually go with fresh ground pepper, sea/kosher salt, garlic, onion, paprika, red pepper flakes and parsley(all dried). Depending on the type of meat etc. I'm cooking I may go with cinnamon or brown sugar or both also. I go by eye and tatse so never really measure(hence I am a sucky baker). Use a coffee grinder to combine all ingredients(don't use the grinder you use for coffee :D ) Rub with love about an hour(no longer than three or four for dry rubs) before cooking. Grill and have fun.

may I recommend a little olive oil followed by kosher salt and freshly ground pepper?

Werd to your mother :D

My buddies were swearing by some kind of Montreal Steak Spice, but I can't remember if it was a specific brand.

McCormick's makes a Montreal Steak Seasoning and it it is tasty. I prefer the method unta mentions above. :D

My buddies were swearing by some kind of Montreal Steak Spice, but I can't remember if it was a specific brand.

You're probably thinking of McCormack's "Montreal Steak Seasoning". If you use it as a rub, it'll be too peppery. It's much better lightly sprinkled on. And your friend was right, it really brings out the meat's flavor without overpowering it. My favorite store brand.

As for homemade, which is always better but not as quick, try:

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 teaspoons ground black pepper

1 tablespoon sweet paprika

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon cayanne pepper

1 1/2 tablespoons kosher salt

3 tablespoons brown sugar

Rub this on a few steaks about an hour before grilling and you'll make lots of friends.