[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Looney Tunes

irish

Was just watching a Looney Tune show with the kiddies and because it's Presidents' Weekend they had the one on with Porky Pig and Uncle Sam. Long story short Porky doesn't have a clue what America is all about and what the Land of the Free means. So Uncle Sam teaches him and in the end Porky proudly stands and pledges the flag :D , however when it got to the part where he would say one nation under God, under God was left out. I was pretty shocked that it was omitted. I know that this has created quite a discussion in this country and it has been debated whether or not to leave that 2 word phrase in there or not. Since I am a teacher, I also get to observe kids in my class that don't Pledge the Flag at all. I've had one kid refuse to stand and others in the past just stand but not put their hand on their chest or say anything. This pisses me off more than you know. It's not a hugh deal if under God is left out, as religious beliefs are personal and forcing someone to say under God when they don't believe in one isn't right. But not standing for the Pledge when you and your family live in this country and benefit from opportunities/so-called freedoms we have here is just flat out insulting to me. If these kids or anyone for that matter don't want to say under God in the Pledge that's fine but they should at least have to stand and physically/verbally Pledge Allegiance to the Flag otherwise they should go back to where they came from. :D

Thoughts?