[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Potty Training

Atlanta Cracker

I'm not very good at the "sit back and let it happen" thing but before I screw my son up for life I wanted to get some huddler feedback :wacko: . He turned 3 in January and is very aware of the potty and how it works. I am sure he can handle it but he has zero interest. In fact he has less than zero interest.

I guess I'm just trying to figure out when/if I should force the issue a little bit and exactly how if so. I have heard of people doing "pants off" training for a weekend with success but I don't know if I want to spend time that we could be doing something else fun chasing around my bare bottomed son to get him to go to the potty and cleaning up the messes.

What say you?

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As mentioned in the thumb sucking thread, a reward system could work. My wife set up a potty chart, and every hour she would have my son sit on the toilet. Whether he went or not, he would get a sticker for "trying". He got ot put the sticker on his potty chart, and every 8 stickers, he would get a potty prize. We did this last summer (he turned 3 in October) as he needed to be potty trained to go to preschool. It didn't seem to be working, then one day, or it seemed like pretty much one day, it just clicked with him. Pooping, well, that took a little longer to get him to go in the toilet but he is a pro now.