[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Online Degrees

Duchess Jack

I work in the spam industry and really love my job. I am brand new to the industry and have no relevant experience - no science, no engineering. I am doing well and raising through the ranks at a good pace. I've got a good name around the company and feel like I am in a good position to go places. Having no history in this type of work, I want to make sure I don't outpace my qualifications.

Anything science or engineering related requires a lab so I cannot take these online. So I am looking to get a degree in project management or in operations management.

I am worried about the quality of online schools and want to get my BS from the best school I can. No reason to get it if its from Yankee Doodle University. Any suggestions.

For years, military folks could get a degree via correspondents course from the Univeristy of Maryland. I also know that they do have several online degrees (I don't know which specialties) because they advertise pretty regularly around here. You might want to take a gander at what they have to offer.

I also know that Penn State has what they call the World Campus which is online, but I think that is more certificate oriented rather than degree based. Still, you may want to take a look there as well. It's been a while since I worked with those offerings.

I'm sure that there are plenty of other schools that have offerings specifically for working professionals. Sometimes these are structured so that labs are conducted over an 18 hour period on weekends. The key is to make sure that the school that you choose is fully acredited. Remember, the name on the degree only opens some doors. You're the one that still has to step through and do the work.