[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Zappa Plays Zappa

Kid Cid

OK, it's gonna take me a while to get to the point here so please bear with me. I started playing guitar in the first grade. I took a few years off to play amongst other things: percussion (marching band and drum corps just about anything you could bang on), clarinet, saxophone, flute and a bit of piano. Through all that I've kept up with the guitar. So to be consertative, let's say I've played for about 30 years. During that time, I've played professionally and I've had the opportunity to play with some of the biggest names in the business as well as with some of the most amazing musicians (not necessarily the same people).

So at this point you can call me a bit jaded. I've pretty much seen and heard it all. My musical tastes run from classical through jazz, blues and rock. They touch briefly on bluegrass and country. That's why I don't find much redeeming value in most of todays new bands and I find even less in the rap music genre.

So with that being said, last night I had the distinct pleasure of going up to the Tower Theater in Philly to see a show titled Zappa Plays Zappa. Actually, let me rephrase that. Last night I saw the single best concert I've seen in the last 15 years. Frank Zappa's two sons Dweezil and Ahmet have put together a band of ultra talented musicians to play some of their father's music.