[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Standardized Testing...

irish

Some of you in here know that I'm a teacher and other than teaching my kids based on the curriculum, I've also been focusing on addressing specific areas when it comes to proctoring state tests such as the NJASK. So for months now I've been trying to teach my kids specific styles, types, forms of writing, such as creative writing-which is more entertaining and free to use many of the writer's techniques/tools like; onomatopoeia, personification, alliteration, sensory details, dialogue, similes, metaphors and other figurative language as well as paragragh and sentence structure and how to write good openings and endings. Then you switch gears and try to teach them how to write more of a persuasive writing, like responses to Open-Ended questions. This is a completely different type of writing and if the kids confuse the two they will get almost no credit for their work on the test. Anywho, I'm drilling away with the techniques and different styles for months now, 115 days, and one of my kids has really taken to writing and is quickly becoming fantastic at it.