[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Fireworks

Hat Trick

How much do you usually spend? Do you have friends and guests over and make an event out of it and do your own show? or Do you go to a display?

Any good stories?

We usually stay put and do our own display, with friends and guests, have a big cookout and of course lots of liquor flowing. Our homeowners association has a big display that we can see perfectly from our deck. This year we are having everyone chip in and the display will be even bigger.

Just curious what others do.

My neighbors and I have been chipping in $100 each for the last several years to put on an illegal fireworks display. I think we spent $700 this year and it all pops off on the 4th (block party to boot with the street closed to traffic).

Edit: Cops get called every year but my neighbor works for the city and they always leave us alone.

Edited by Puddy

We always pitch in and put on a big fireworks show out at the local lake. Last year 10 of us pitched in $1,800 each, and a buddy of mine who has a class B license from the ATF put on the larges fireworks show the county has ever had. I haven't talked to him in about a month, so I don't know if he is doing anything big or not. If he doesn't then i will probably only spend about $400-$500 on the crap available at the fireworks stands that has a ridiculous mark-up. We will have friends and family out to my parents place on the lake, and take the kids skiing, tubing, and just cruising. We will smoke a bunch of chickens, links, briskets, and ribs. If my Dad has any backstrap left, we will smoke that too, me and my brother have already eaten all of ours.