[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

car buffs here

Scooby

I hear it's good for lower mileage vehicles, but costs twice as much, but then again you can go longer between oil changes-a regular oil change woulda cost me $35 this one was $70. My friend has an oil change shop, he recommended I use it so I did. My car is a 2009 model has about 11K miles on it. I'm guessing its ok to switch from regular to synthetic without damaging something? Also a lease car, so I wont have it past 3 yrs or 30K miles.

My understanding is that once you go synthetic you can't go back.

Meh, kind of. The thing is this... Don't bounce back and forth between the 2.

To the original question. If you are good about changing your oil when it's supposed to be changed I would not bother with synthetic on a leased car. It is an expense you don't really need. I am a mechanic with an older, 99 Infinity Q45, high mileage car. I use conventional oil and change it regularly. I recently had the valve covers off because the gaskets were leaking and the valve train was spotless. No sludge, dirt, deposits, nothing!

If you are the type of person who see's that 3000 mile sticker and think that means 6000 miles then please switch to synthetic as it will not sludge up on you.

If you were not leasing then it is probably worth it down the line to pay the extra for the synthetic.

I run full synthetic in all my vehicles - two high-mileage jobs and my wife's newer Acura. Personally, I think it's a better product, but conventional oil works fine too if you are good on getting the oil changed regularly.

I would not use low-brow regular oil - my experience is that it is inferior to name brand stuff. I don't think that's the case with a lot of products, but oil is a different story.