[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Saving for college

sunysteelfly76

Never heard of it. I'd suggest talking with a financial advisor to get you started. I use Edward Jones and have been putting back since kids birth for college funds, 100% tax deductible and if they don't end up going to college for any reason, it can be applied towards any techinical training or class without having to pay any tax.

I was told by my advisor to put back $150/month per child , this would pay about 75% of any college they wanted to attend and left them a little to work off themselves to show them some responsibilty.

Edited by theeohiostate

We do it. Whatever i buy at Publix and a few other places, they kick back a % into my kids 529 college fund. Plus I have a Upromise MasterCard that kicks back a % to that fund as well. I pay off that card at the end of every month, so it is definitely free money for my kids. My parents also shop with a Upromise card that kicks into my kids 529. You just hand the card to the check out lady when you are paying for your groceries, they scan it, and money appears each month on the 529.

Never heard of it. I'd suggest talking with a financial advisor to get you started. I use Edward Jones and have been putting back since kids birth for college funds, 100% tax deductible and if they don't end up going to college for any reason, it can be applied towards any techinical training or class without having to pay any tax.

I was told by my advisor to put back $150/month per child , this would pay about 75% of any college they wanted to attend and left them a little to work off themselves to show them some responsibilty.

1304879[/snapback]

Just started this week with a college fund for my 4 month old. At Edward Jones also. Probably the same type plan you are in.