[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Does anyone know how much talent it takes

MojoMan

So there's a lot of talk about executive compensation and Obama's and McCaskill's proposals to curb "excessive" executive compensation for those whose companies are getting bailed out.

The sour grapes side of me likes this idea. Really, who is worth $20M?

However, what if we assume that that high compensation is buying rare talent? So, it goes to follow that you take away the compensation, the talent leaves, and the company declines even more.

I have little experience with high-powered executive types. I worked for a small company some time ago that had recruited a bunch of large company execs. As a middle-manager, I did have a fair amount of contact with them. I was not impressed. They didn't seem to work harder or make better decisions or know more than any other number of people I have worked for or with. However, these were not Jack Welch or Rick Waggoner. These were senior VPs at a company with revenues of about $4B/annum.

Do any of you guys have experience working with a high-powered exec? Do we stand to lose overall by potentially pushing them out of their highly paid CEO-type jobs?

Just wondering.

Edited by MojoMan

I've found that the number one skill of any executive is speaking with confidence in a manner in which other people (specifically board members) believe and trust what you say.

I wish I had that quality, but I'll have to settle for being very good at actually accomplishing tasks that make companies profitable.

I've found that the number one skill of any executive is speaking with confidence in a manner in which other people (specifically board members) believe and trust what you say.

I think you're right. Unfortunately, what is not required, is actually being right in what you say.