[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

The realities of a college education

Perchoutofwater

As the author is a professor of poli-sci, should he not be working actively to alter the education system which he lambastes? Last time I checked, a degree in political science was just as useful as a degree in lesbian poetry. I would truly never consider funding my children to get a degree in poli-sci or literature unless they strove to be a professor.

I will say that the education I received in my first two years of college far exceeded anything I learned in high school. However, I have a couple degrees in engineering, so apparently the hard sciences are the exception to the rule.

I will say that the education I received in my first two years of college far exceeded anything I learned in high school. However, I have a couple degrees in engineering, so apparently the hard sciences are the exception to the rule.

The first of my three physics classes and the first two math classes I took in college were easier than the physics and calculus classes I took in high school. After that it got a little harder. The literature, psych, etc... classes were a joke. I'm still mad that the "Death and Dying" class was full and I was forced to take "Struggles Of An African American Single Mother In A Caucasian Male' s World" for my required keystone class. Let me tell you, I've really used that class.