[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Car buying

MojoMan

They're fun to drive for the $ and I hear reliability is better than Audi.

We had a Jetta for years with zero issues. We lost it in Hurricane Isabel. Something about being underwater did it in....

I really liked the fit and finish of that car for the money, and the 1.8T was a blast to drive.

As a professional auto tech I will say this. Stay the hell away from VW if you know whats good for you!

Doh, didn't know you were a pro. Not to thread jack but do you have any advice/opinion on Mazda? My wife kind of likes those CX-9s and I was thinking about grabbing an 07/08 with low mileage in about 6 months. What I've read has been good reviews but I'd like a tech's opinion.

ETA: The only solid rule I know about car buying from a dealership is they are typically more willing to cut a deal at the end of the month. Going on the last possible day gives you a better opportunity because they have numbers to make. They're going to be more optimistic early in the month and more desperate at the end. Just my 2cents.

Edited by Square

I have a Fusion. 2007 SEL, 4-cyl 5-spd, everything except navigation. Not the first problem from that car in 55K+ miles. Heck, I haven't even had to put brake pads on it yet (though they'll need it soon). I get 32 on trips, 27 around town/normal driving.

Again, this car has all the bells and whistles like electronic climate control, auto headlights, moonroof, heated seats, etc. Not the first problem from it. :wacko: If you ever get into Charleston, WV I can probably get you hooked up on either an Audi or a ford.