[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

401K Question

Outshined

I have some money in my 401k. I think it is down about 10-15% this year. I am going to look more into it this week. Should I look at moving it to a gauranteed fund of 2%? I know diddly squat about managing this stuff.

Anybody doing anything with their 401k.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks.

how long until you retire?

How active do you want to be in managing your fund?

I am not a financial professional, so you realyl shuld seek the advice of one, but, if you do not want to be too active in the management, target date funds are an excellent way to have a blend of stocks, bonds and cash appropriate for your age and length of time until anticipated retirement.

I have some money in my 401k. I think it is down about 10-15% this year. I am going to look more into it this week. Should I look at moving it to a gauranteed fund of 2%? I know diddly squat about managing this stuff.

Anybody doing anything with their 401k.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks.

I'm seriously considering it. I'm sick and tired of watching my 401k lose value at the same rate that I'm contributing new money. If the market remains flat, I lose nothing. If it goes down, I win. I only lose if the market goes up. Does anyone really thing that's going to happen in the near future?

The trick, I think, would be to gauge when the right time would be to get back into the market. But let's say the market goes down 20% and then I get back in. I can basically buy all the same funds I had and own 25% more shares of those same funds compared to before I bailed out of them. Plus, you get your 2% return. Plus, you've protected all new money against losing value in connection with that 20% decline. Even if the market continues to go down after that you're still better off.