[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Tell me something about contact lenses.

Skippy

My daughter is getting contacts and I have no clue about them. Is there such a think as contacts that you leave in for 30 straight days? I don't mean use them for 30 days but rather put them in one time and forget about them for a month.

Also, is there such a think as a contact that you can swim with?

I would thing that the answer is no to both of these but we are getting some information from some of her friends that sounds like there are.

Edited by Skippy

My daughter did the contact thingee years ago. Whilst she was trying to get used to them she wore out a pair in like 3 days!

She finally got used to them but not before many tears! :wacko:

Good luck!

I've been wearing contacts for almost 30 years; maybe the last 10 or so I've worn extended wear lenses that you can sleep in and wear for two weeks to a month straight. I do use some "blink-n-clean" eyedrops to keep them moist, but for the most part that's the extent of the maintenance. After a month you toss them and move on to a new pair. Haven't had any eye problems other than the occasional dry eye (again with the drops). I would imagine it might take your daughter some time to work up to wearing the lenses for that long of a time, just depends on how quickly her eyes adjust.

As for lenses you can swim in, unless you're wearing goggles I don't see how that's possible. I wear mine swimming but am paranoid a good splash will knock them out so almost always wear goggles.

2V

I've worn them for years, but over the past 3-5 years I've gradually moved to glasses almost exclusively. Combination of settling down/less vanity and now have chronic dry eye from staring at the computer all day, so it's not comfortable to wear them.