[[Template core/front/custom/_customHeader is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]]

Soccer strategy

Ramhock

I am an assistant coach for a U12 team. I know basketball, not soccer.

In an 8-on-8 environment, we currently use a 3-1-3 lineup. 12 of our 15 players are 10 years-old, as we dominated the U10 to the point that we moved the entire team to U12. We are struggling, but I do not concern myself with Ws & Ls, and neither do the players or their parents. We are ALL enjoying the experience. I just wanted to know if the 3-1-3 is giving us our best chance. We do seem to have fewer scoring opportunities than our opponents. The HC is a former soccer player, and I just would like some opinions to see if I should be suggesting that we change to a 3-3-1, 3-2-2, 4-2-1 or some other lineup. Thank you in advance.

As a former VERY competitive soccer player, I believe games are won and lost in the midfield. There ya go.

I've never coached, but if I did, I would go 2-3-3, with your center midfield having the speed and endurance to not only cover midfielder duties, but attack as well.

Edited by darin3

As a former VERY competitive soccer player, I believe games are won and lost in the midfield. There ya go.

I've never coached, but if I did, I would go 2-3-3, with your center midfield having the speed and endurance to not only cover midfielder duties, but attack as well.

So, if you were coaching you would use a 2-3-2?